Could a nice holiday with your best friend(s) be the best therapy ever?

Back in January, two of my best friends decided to go to Dubai and they asked me to come along. It took me a whole month to decide whether I was up for it or not because I had never been out of the country with my friends before. I decided that I’ll go for it just a week before our flights were booked. I have never been a nervous flyer so I wasn’t really worried about the transit flight. The only thing I was worried about was whether I’ll be able to survive with a family I’ve never met before or not(My best friend’s Aunt and Uncle offered to let us stay with them). We decided to stay in Dubai for a week and we had prepared a list with all the places we wanted to visit and everything we wanted to do while we’re there, keeping in mind our budgets.

When I reached, meeting my friends just made the anxiety go away. I reached at midnight and we spent the night planning how we want to make the most of out of this trip. We only had a week so there was obviously no time to waste. I decided that I’ll spend this week disconnected from my phone which meant less of WhatsApp(Just to tell my family where I am and what I’m up to) and less of Snapchat. I’m not a fan of posting stories of where I’m going and what I’m doing anyway.

Getting up and having breakfast together, Dressing up together and literally exploring the whole city in a week all by ourselves definitely made me think that going to Dubai was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made because of the confidence it gave me. I felt confident because firstly I flew all the way through a transit flight and then I was in another country with just my friends and I felt a sense of responsibility as well. Last but not the least, I was there to enjoy myself and I knew that I might not get a chance like this again so I didn’t want to waste time at all. I felt uplifted because all we did was laugh and explore. It was like the three of us had left our troubles back in our own countries and came all the way just to relax. We hardly talked about anything negative going on in our lives because the whole trip was just about relaxing and having fun. We also didn’t have the time. It makes me realize that when we have nothing to do, that’s when our minds come up with all sorts of negativity, making us anxious or depressed.

My favourite part of the whole trip was Parasailing. I didn’t want to do it because the height scared me. But I’m so glad that my friends forced me because it was the best thing ever. It was less thrilling and more relaxing. You’ll have to experience it to know what I’m talking about but it’s like when you’re at a height and you’re sailing through the air you just want to close your eyes and relax. But I still kept my eyes open because the view was absolutely breathtaking.FullSizeRender (1)

This is why I think that going on a trip with your best friends is the best form of therapy ever:

  • Best friends understand you. Even if you’re having a moment during a holiday, they know exactly what to do to lift you up and get you back on track.
  • I’d be worried if I was accompanied on a holiday with someone I don’t really want to go on a holiday with. But you can be yourself with your best friends and do whatever you want!
  • Because you connect with your best friends, there’ll be less conflicts related to what you want to do on your holiday. Mostly, you would share the same opinion.
  • Making memories with your best friends is something that will stay with you forever.
  • Best friend photoshoots?

When I got back, it took me a day to recover from jet lag but I felt great! I needed that holiday and I needed to have some fun and do stuff out of my normal routine. I brought some amazing memories back and I’d totally do it again if I ever get the chance.

12 comments

  1. justbreath · April 15

    You summarized a really good vacation perfectly. Best friend who understands you and some place beautiful? Does it get any better than this? Loved the article!

    Liked by 1 person

    • WednesdaysWithZo · April 15

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  2. inamessyworld · June 16

    This is exactly how I am! I’ll be going on a one week holiday soon with a friend who invited me along. Like you, I’m not nervous about flying, but just being there without my own family, and being in a new place with new people. This post is great, and glad to have read it in time! 😀

    Like

    • WednesdaysWithZo · June 16

      Wonderful! Let me know if you need any tips before your trip.
      I love reading your posts. I feel like we are spiritually connected.
      Have a great time! X

      Liked by 1 person

      • inamessyworld · June 17

        I honestly do feel like we’re on the same level 😃 !! I guess right now, I’m just worried about what’s going to happen when ​I get to the airport, although of course I will have my friend with me, but it’ll be a bit daunting.
        Thank you!!! X

        Like

      • WednesdaysWithZo · June 17

        Where are you off to?

        Like

      • inamessyworld · June 17

        Greece 🙂 It’s an amazing opportunity, but a part of me is kinda, sorta freaking out, haha.

        Like

      • WednesdaysWithZo · June 17

        Lucky youuuuuu! That’s where’d I’d want to go on my honeymoon lol x

        Liked by 1 person

      • WednesdaysWithZo · June 17

        Make the most of it and don’t forget to disconnect!

        Like

      • inamessyworld · June 17

        Thanks, and I will! And really?! See, we are kindred spirits, haha 😀

        Like

      • WednesdaysWithZo · June 17

        Lol yes! Or Prague. Oh I’d love to see Prague!!!

        Like

      • inamessyworld · June 17

        Ooooh, that sounds pretty lush too. I think my top three places I want to go to are Greece, Dubai and Singapore.

        Like

Leave a Reply

